Oecd activities related to the regional and Local Policies


Founded in 1961, it is based in Paris. It encompasses 30 countries. For over 40 years, the OECD has been one of the most reliable sources of comparative statistics in the world. As well as data, the OECD compiles trends, analyses and forecasts of economic development, as well as research into social changes and the evolution of patterns in commerce, the environment, agriculture, technology, taxation, etc. Furthermore, the OECD is one of the biggest publishers in the world in the areas of economics and public policy.
The OECD is global in its scope: -Members: 30 countries. -Candidates: Chile, Estonia, Israel, Russia and Slovenia are currently in talks to join the Organisation; and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia and South Arica are also looking at potentially becoming members.
Its objectives are:
The OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from all around the world with a view to:
- Supporting sustainable economic growth.
-Promoting employment.
-Raising living standards.
-Maintaining financial stability.
-Helping other countries to achieve economic development.
-Contributing to the growth of global commerce.
The Organisation provides a context in which governments can compare their political experiences, seek solutions to common problems, identify good practices and coordinate national and international policies. The OECD also shares its knowledge and exchanges opinions with over 100 countries.
Operational bodies
The OECD encompasses the following bodies:
-The Council: Decision-making power is vested in the OECD Council. It is made up of one representative per member country, plus a representative of the European Commission.
The Council meets regularly at the level of permanent representatives to OECD and decisions are taken by consensus. The Council meets at ministerial level once a year to discuss key issues and set priorities for OECD work. The work mandated by the Council is carried out by the OECD Secretariat.
-Secretariat: The Secretariat is responsible for analysis and proposals, and its staff supports the activities of committees, and carries out the work in response to priorities decided by the OECD Council. The staff includes economists, lawyers, scientists and other professionals.
-Committees: Representatives of the 30 OECD member countries meet in specialised committees to advance ideas and review progress in specific policy areas, such as economics, trade, science, employment, education or financial markets. There are about 200 committees, working groups and expert groups. Some 40 000 senior officials from national administrations go to OECD committee meetings each year to request, review and contribute to work undertaken by the OECD Secretariat.
OECD Committees in which the Ministry of Territorial Policy participates
They are part of the Directorate of Public Governance and Territorial Development (GOV), which helps member states to adapt their administrative and territorial policies to the changing needs of society. Through the Public Governance Committee (PGC) and the Territorial Development Policy Committee (TDPC), this Directorate offers countries the chance to exchange impressions about the means required to tackle the challenge of Governance. Furthermore, it organises regular meetings for specialist working groups, ad hoc groups of experts and international colloquia.
- Public Governance Committee (PGC)
The Committee is responsible for establishing and steering the public governance programme affected by the management of regulation, human resources, conflicts of interest and public integrity. The Committee meets at a ministerial level every two years, and the next meeting is scheduled for 2010. It is organised into Plenary sessions, held twice a year in spring and autumn, and an Extended Bureau.
Its meetings are attended by representatives of the Secretary of State for the Civil Service (Ministry of the Presidency) and of the Directorate General of Regional Co-operation.
It encompasses the following working groups made up of experts who usually meet at least once a year:
1. Working Party of Senior Budget Officials.
2. Working Party on Human Resources Management.
3. Working Party on Regulatory Management and Reform.
- Territorial Development Policy Committee (TDPC)
The TDPC was formally established in 1999 to help governments through a permanent forum to debate Territorial Policy issues. Its work focuses on creating and supporting regional competitiveness, promoting effective and innovative governance, and developing indicators to monitor and measure improvements in regional competitiveness. To do this, it carries out studies at the request of Member States to analyse regional policies with a view to reducing existing gaps and helping regions to seek the greatest competitiveness possible at a national level. These studies can lead to the adoption of recommendations. It meets in a Plenary Session and an Extended Bureau, in which the Directorate General of Regional Co-operation takes part.
The Ministry of Territorial Policy takes part in two of the three working parties linked to the Committee:
1. Working Party on Territorial Indicators (WPTI).
2. Working Party on Territorial Policy in Urban Areas (WPURB).